Episode IV: A New Hope

If you’re a Star Wars fan, like my good-self, you’ll appreciate the reference. However, I’m not here to talk about how Obi-Wan Kenobe got struck down by Darth Vadar and became even more powerful than he could imagine. Instead, I’m referring to a new chapter in my professional life and the change from being a client guy to an agency guy.

The Other Side of the Fence.

For over 10 years I’ve worked in Marketing, gaining valuable experience on just how all the marketing elements fit together. Of course, my work entailed developing the marketing ideas, and implementing the practices of just one company. Now, I’ve been given the opportunity to switch sides and to help an array of other companies on the agencies books.

I’ve spoken to a number of people who’ve described the switch as the easiest thing they’ve ever done, while some struggled with dealing with work from more than one company. There is no doubt that whatever lies ahead will be a challenge. I trust my skills, experience and professionalism, but there is no doubt in my mind that the next few months will be a steep learning curve.

Stick with me, and I’ll keep you posted on just how I’m getting on and I’ll also be talking about developments in other key marketing areas.

May the force be with you.

 

Leave a Reply

